Alternative Housing Reaps Big Reward$$

There are so many ways of moving back to the land. For young, middle age, or even retirees, alternative building is certainly a valuable choice to look into. For instance, say a person is tried of life in the inner city, yearns for the freedom of country life, but feels insecure about posting a down payment on a small farm. (I don’t know why such a person would … there are so MANY affordable places to chose from and so many finance options that almost anyone could … but let’s hypothetically look at it from this perspective.)

I personally dream of buying an older, small home with detached garage, outbuildings that once served as workshops or storage buildings, and of course, an old barn with old treasures still remaining inside to be used as restored art treasures.

But there are several other ideas floating around my head that involve generating income as well as community. But how would I keep my cost down and build other cottages?

www.naturalvillages.org/ provides answers. One of the Cob Houses posted on the site was built for almost nothing but salvaged materials, that include mud and straw, and rocks. After all the work was done (in less than 2 months time), it was appraised for over a quarter of a million dollars.

“Our little cob is one item away from a certificate of occupancy and has been appraised twice by major banks: one for $250,000.00 and one for $275,000.00. Not bad for 6l0 sq. ft. of mud.” (View pics.)

You dont have to move alone.
I love the idea, but in this time of alienation, there is a huge value in joining in communal living. www.ic.org is a site chocked full of Intentional Communities located in every corner of the world.


3 comments on “Alternative Housing Reaps Big Reward$$

  1. Richard says:

    Alternative housing is a wonderful idea once we get past our collective consumerist addiction to keeping up with the Joneses.

    I’ve often lamented the fact that I wasted my college years learning how to become a “knowledge worker” when I could have spent that time learning something far more useful, like carpentry or plumbing. We really have lost our way in the urban cages we call cities.

    Although it isn’t practical for everyone, going back to the land is a good idea for many.

  2. journeyman says:

    Thank you Richard!

    I’m increasingly becoming more excited about alternative home building.

    Now, about whatever you studied as an undergrad… I hear you loud and I agree. Be easy on yourself … whatever you studied was right and it brought you here. Personally, my last degree is now of absolutely … useless.

    So now I’m in school to become a truck driver. This is a skill I can certainly use in rural America.

  3. WayMaker says:

    This site and the information you provide……..I’m speechless. It’s like my back has been bending under the lash. My hands and feet sre from slaving. My heart still filled at the hope of living authentically. And here you are. Like a figure behind the trees beckoning me to freedom.

    I want to link and build with whomever. i want to learn as much as I can. I want to help out on the farm of an Elder, or help raise awareness….anything!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

