Farm Reality

So I bought 10 acres in North Carolina.
In a conservative county within a conservative state.
Yep… a bit of, “Buyers Remorse.”

Building the first Hugkelultur mound

Building the first Hugkelultur mound in a conservative county within a conservative state.Yep… a bit of “Buyers Remorse.”

I love my “farm”
After a year, I’m still amazed when I look out the window and see all these barns and animal houses on my land. It’s like living in a post card. I also love the little “mini-forest” I have out front that sits between my the pasture that fronts the road, and my front yard. But there are hard points too:

  • I should have moved South or Midwest earlier. At 61, I just don’t have the time or desire to do all I need to make this a real farm
  • I need a tractor, but I’ve already decided to move to Northern Virginia sometime in the next 2 or 3 years. (So I’ll hire that work out.)
  • The ground here needs a lot of work. The home was vacant for 7 years before I bought it. About a foot and a half beneath the topsoil rests hard pan clay.
  • The culture. I came to the Deep South expecting racism. Being retired, I’m sheltered from a lot of that because I don’t have to kiss anyone’s behind just to make a living. But I was not expecting the worst difficulties to come from other black people.

Mr. Gilmore’s Plantation
Another thing the North Carolina culture is teaching me is the depths of internalized racism and the legacy of slavery. Many of the first slaves were brought in through South Carolina. The Klan still has three strong groups here in N.C. But on the surface, most whites are “friendly” … but they get their niggras to do their dirty work for them.

Post Traumatic Slave Syndrome
It’s deep here. Transplants to the state are not only regarded as, “outsiders” … but far worse is the label, “Intruders.”
Currently the U.S. is boiling in a stew of Narcissism that like untreated trauma turns into Personality Disorders, the age of narcissism has turned into “The Age of Loneliness.” It’s not just here, it’s throughout the Westernly influenced  world of modernity. So, many of the blacks inherent not only the dysfunctional and painful legacy of slavery, but also local attitudes of “Us against Them” newcomers. Trust me… it’s a Crab Barrel here, and you’ll encounter no shortage of miserable people eager to tear you down.

Women and The Karma of NeoCon/ Libertarian/ Tea Party Politics
Black women are the fastest rising prison population. “Federal studies show that the number of white, black, and Hispanic women who classified themselves as regular drinkers jumped significantly between the 1990s and early 2000s, and Gallup pollsters have consistently found that the more wealthy and educated a woman is, the more likely she is to drink.” Gallop also found that media fueled anger towards men has also dramatically increased Lesbianism and a general hostility towards men. In short, Attachment Issues, T.V. shows like, “Scandal,” Hip Hop culture, oppression, and economics has greatly changed the way black men and black women relate. Often, if you’re a black male, when you arrive in the Deep South, you will be tested in an aggressive way by all… but the worst… you’ll encounter is from black females. This was a huge surprise.

While this was a huge surprise, it all fits in with the Karma of the Republican Right Wing agenda that has been in warp drive since the early 1980s. Social Engineering basically follows the agenda of the Norman Conquest of, “Divide and Conquer.” (In the black community, we rationalize it with the “Willie Lynch Letter.” Perhaps only good fiction, but it illustrates the way the Normans made the Brits slaves in their own land for over 200 years. All this was mapped out by Plato in, “The Republic” and all nations seem to use it to keep the ruling class in place and the masses fighting amongst each other.)

Buying ‘Back South’
In short, I was tired when I bought here. I just wanted to move in and buy a place before home prices rose. Not researching an area before relocating is listed as one of The Five Mistakes Retirees Make when buying a home. I see that I’m still basically an urbanite, and moving rural will push on you in more ways than you can imagine. The way people think they have the RIGHT to be nosy about you… they way they think they can vote on your right to breath their air, and the jealousy that some with lesser education will view you as, is remarkable. My advise is to look for the most liberal and progressive counties to move into, and rent six months to a year before buying a new home in another state.

28 comments on “Farm Reality

  1. shirah says:

    I am an urbanite thinking of moving to the South to build a farm and re-learn our “lost” land. However, I’m wary of the very issues you mentioned. It’s good to know my concerns are justified.

    • De Gaiamon says:

      Shirah, this does not apply to all of the South, tho I agree it is found in many parts, and also North,East and West too!
      Hey I’m a permaculturist, left activist of the sixties and living here in the beautiful beautiful vista of west central Georgia on a homestead, and things are very well in terms of race relations.There is even a Black sherrif that is liked by all races.

      As for urbanites like yourself, there are beautiful rural homesteads still available at fair prices in my area. And I mayself will share with others land, and or teach them sustainable principle of design etc..But finding African American people that can relate to the mother earth has been quite difficult.
      I do hope that you find that special place…….Peace, “De”

      • Eco says:

        I’m looking to live in a rural setting too; one that is value based, sustainability oriented in culture and practice at a human scale. Seeking to honor and recreate an African essence and humanity for healing and growth, that’s the value in life going forward.

  2. Eco says:

    This is the community conversation, I’ve been looking for. I left the rat race and now live to create, appreciate, and practice beauty everyday, every moment.

    Salute & Asé.

  3. Paul says:

    I have traveled extensively in this country, living and working my way back and forth from coast to coast for most of my adult life. My wife and I had been looking for that rural, progressive paradise in The South for years and then, for professional reasons, we moved to the Navajo Reservation for 4 years and have settled in New Mexico, in the mountains just outside Albuquerque. We’re a mixed family. I’m white, my wife is black. We’ve got two kids. There aren’t a lot of black folks up here, but they’re around. People here like to keep to themselves and, for the first time, we’re just not that interesting to our neighbors. We have quickly made friends with some great families, though. One white woman told me once that, “there just aren’t many black people in New Mexico so, when we see one, we just figure they’re here for some government job and are probably really smart.” Now, I know that’s not what everyone thinks, but it did explain a thing or two about the difference here. New Mexico is the second poorest state in the country. There’s an odd racism that exists among those who refer to themselves as “Spanish” and more recent Mexican immigrants. The Spanish people tend to be lighter skinned, Spanish speaking descendants of original colonizers. So, that’s interesting. Then, there’s the long history of racism against Native Americans. It’s just different here. Its a rural state with enough variety of racism to go around that maybe it just doesn’t wind up being so intensely focused on Black people. I don’t know. I do know that there are probably more Navajos named Shelitria and Tyrone than there are Black ones in Albuquerque. At any rate, we never considered New Mexico before moving here and we certainly wouldn’t have considered the area in which we currently live. But, we wound up in a rural community within a half hour drive of a city that has a Black community and progressive movements. And, property can still be gotten for cheap. While the culture isn’t thickly southern, that element is here and, while gardening is a challenge, it is totally doable once you learn your soil and what crops work. It actually does rain quite a bit, but for only three months or so a year. The key is rain catchment. I know a woman who is able to trap enough water for herself, her husband, their two horses and their large garden. Fortunately, greens and certain tomatoes do well. The schools suck. There are options if you’re willing to drive. Fortunately, we also happened into an area with great community schools that my daughter loves. My son starts kindergarten this year and we’ve got a charter school picked out if that doesn’t work out. I think that New Mexico is more welcoming (depending on where) to rural black people than many areas. But, it’s hard to make a living. If you’re a nurse or in some other medical field, there’s a ton of opportunity.

    • Shirah says:

      Facinating. My partner is White, and finding a multicultural environment is important to me. I find Oakland interesting in terms of this and the huge strides it’s made in the food movement. I’ve been meeting both rural and urban Black Farmers.

      • afroecology says:

        I dropped out of the rat race years ago. Move from urban suburbia to a rural historic town of 260 people. Had to move back to the city for a bit but am ready yo get back to the country. I love the outdoors, hiking and all. Want a farming lite lifestyle without bei by dependent on it. I am a citizen of the world but would love my home to be Black and proud.

      • Shirah says:

        What state did you find your rural haven in?

      • afroecology says:

        West Virginia, but not too far from VA or MD.

    • AfroEcology says:

      Visited the Santa Fe NM area for a few weeks in May. It was a powerful experience; I could sense the insights you shared in your post of a year ago. As a African American I think I could live in NM even with the different traditions there, the land and space is just so beautiful, powerful and compelling. Wondering how you’re finding it now after another year.

  4. afroecology says:

    Aside from all the issues of rural living raised in this string, dealing with the gun culture of rural America is also an issue. I’m guessing the “Faith Keepers” that are trolling the streets of Ferguson, MO and who’s spokesman called the President a “mulatto president”, that’s something you got to be ready for. There are friendly folks out there, but you may have to prove yourself to get some of them to open up.

    One place I’m considering is southern Maryland, nit too far fromthe city but far enough to connect to the land. Having the ocean nearby is a plus too.

    • afroecology says:

      Aside from all the issues of rural living raised in this string, dealing with the gun culture of rural America is also an issue. I’m guessing the “Faith Keepers” that are trolling the streets of Ferguson, MO and who’s spokesman called the President a “mulatto president”, that’s something you got to be ready for. There are friendly folks out there, but you may have to prove yourself to get some of them to open up.

      One place I’m considering is southern Maryland, nit too far fromthe city but far enough to connect to the land. Having the ocean nearby is a plus too.

      I’ve heard about some new housing and co-housing developments in rural areas where maybe 4 to 8 buyers, join in build homes on land and create their own little community in a farm or rural setting, anyone familiar with anything like that?

  5. HappyLady says:

    I think picking a place where you can be comfortable is just as important as getting the land itself. My hubby and I bought 6 acres about 29 minutes from Atlanta as we felt it would be the safer for us to be around a majority POC community, especially if there is some kind of crisis.

  6. MycDazzle says:

    I’ve been looking to make a similar move, on the intentional community front, but there just doesn’t seem to be much interest within the black community to form villages/ tribes. I’ve scoured ic.org/ the internet, but our fairer skinned brothers and sisters seem to be the only ones in search of legitimate and authentic spirituality based/ Life centric communities. Have any of you discovered otherwise?

    • afroecology says:

      My wife and I are on a similar path. While others are busy with intention and very will to invite us to join them, we remain steadfastly focused on connecting with our peeps. We’re in VA now but have connection of one sort or another in TN, NC,SC. Where are you? My sense is we have to create our own network with the intention of doing it ourselves. Lets keep communicating on this.

      • journeyman says:

        I’m in North Carolina.
        Virginia may be a better state… even though the racism is more overt in some places. (Same here.) I think too many people are tied to their Televisions to network right now. There are groups, but they tend to follow religious reaction … all along the spectrum.

    • HappyLady says:

      Well, I recently discoverd this wonderful bible study group called Israel of God, They’re based out of Chicago, but have meeting places all over the world ( and for people like me me, I detest gatherings lol, they have an online study group). They really focus on studying the word of God, literally and many in the group have they’re own homesteads or edible back and front yards. It’s amazing how God tells us in times of plenty prepare for famine, yet people ignore all the warnings of this coming famine.

      • journeyman says:

        When you say, “literally” … I hope you don’t mean the same old brainwashing, Fundamentalist or Prosperity theology?

        The Bible is a mystical map of YOUR mind. One needs a teacher who knows some numerology, astrology, math, and a bit of Hebrew to understand that the deeper meanings are ALLEGORICAL … not “Literal.” It says so right in it. Good luck with that…

      • afroecology says:

        Love hearing you have such a resource working on a common cause; the best to all. Don’t know that that’s quite the group for me but I encourage you to do the good work that must be done and I will do the same.

  7. […] as we move out of this ream through “reflection, doubts, and experimentations. (CW 8 ¶ 750, Jung and Ecopsychology: The Dairy Farmer’s Guide to the Universe …)  “Our ability to develop abstract systems, especially systems without a nature base like […]

  8. Nermarí says:

    My husband and I are considering moving to a more rural area and having a farm. We’re a multi-racial family – i’m Hispanic and he’s Jamaican, and we have four young kids. This reality of racism in the US, however, really puts damp in our plans. I feel we’re not familiar enough with where racism exists throughout the south and west. Any recommendations of places that would be good to look at as we start this journey?

    • journeyman says:

      Nermari, I just glanced at your profile and you already seem like a right fit for “The South” … in fact I think you already live there? (Florida?) Just join churches as soon as you get there. I think you already know the drill. Try to find a city that attracts a lot of Northerners because of science or health or technology, then move about 20 minutes outside of it.

      I really grew to despise North Carolina because of it’s hypocrisy, meanness, cliquishness, and ignorance. Still, I saw a lot of “Transplants” that were comfortable there. Alamance County just outside of Durham (between Burlington and Durham). Winston-Salem and Chapel Hill aren’t too bad either.

  9. fred says:

    I tried to leave a longer comment but it doesn’t look like it posted Nermari. I’ll go into it at length later. DO NOT BUY. Rent for at least a year… more later

Leave a Reply

