This Week’s Bounty

Here's this week's kitchen bounty!

Here’s this week’s kitchen bounty!

I wasn’t able to grow all that I planted. This isn’t California. The extremes in temperature, greater irrigation needs, and proper Ph soil balance targeted at specific crops make growing here far more complicated than out West. Plus, nothing was grown on my land for seven years prior to my purchasing it. The poor quality top soil is only about a foot deep– if that. Beneath it is hard pan red clay.

I finally built some raised beds.
I also built, and rebuilt a Hugelkultur. (I actually did it three times. Truly a learning experience.) I’d planned for it to settle this winter and begin planting on it in the spring, but already, nature is having its way with the virgin mound.

3 comments on “This Week’s Bounty

  1. HappyLady says:

    I just bought 6 acres with my husband in metro Atlanta. We plan on homesteading because we wanted to be more independent Love to chat with you sometimes and get some tips.

    • afroecology says:

      Not sure if this is directed to me but if it is, i’d be happy to chat. If not, no problem.

      • HappyLady says:

        Thank you for your response. It’s such a breath of fresh air to see more AA’s into farming. The hubs and I are pretty new to this ourselves, but we know food security is going to be a problem in the country when crap hits the fan. Would love to know which crops are the best for starters. We know we also want livestock, but we’re taking baby steps starting out.

Leave a Reply

